International Workers Solidarity Day

Description Most countries celebrate Labour Day on May 1, known as May Day and International Workers' Day. In Europe the day has older significance as a rural festival which is predominantly more important than that of the Labour Day movement. The holiday has become internationalised and several countries hold multi-day celebrations including parades, shows and other patriotic and labour-oriented events.

May 1 is a national holiday in Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mauritius, México, Norway, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, the Philippines (spelled as "Labor Day"), Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Ukraine and Vietnam.

In Slovenia and Ukraine, May 2 is also a national holiday.

In Poland, while May 1 is a national holiday, it was renamed from Labour Day to simply "State Holiday" in 1990.
Date Thu, May 1, 2008
Repeat Type Yearly
Priority 5-Medium
Access Public
Category National Holiday*
Created by Public Access ( by Gary Hill )
Updated Sat, July 12, 2008 8:00pm GMT
Participants National Holidays
Attachments None
Comments None